Portland Personal Injury Lawyer
Law Offices of Timothy Grabe Helping the Injured Get Compensation

What to Do After a Hit and Run Accident in Oregon

No car accident is a pleasant experience. With that being said, a collision can become considerably more distressing if the other driver should fail to stop and exchange information. Known as a “hit and run,” these types of crashes can leave drivers confused of what to do or where to turn for compensation. While you may be feeling immense stress if you have been the victim of a hit and run, there are certain things you can do to stay in control of your situation and maximize your chances of securing the compensation you deserve.

  1. Record as much information as you can: As soon as you can, pull over to the side of the road and write down as much identifying information as you can about the vehicle that hit you, including the license plate number, make, model, and color of the car, and a description of the driver. If there are any witnesses, ask them for their names and contact information. The more information you have, the higher the chances are that the police will catch the driver.
  2. Assess your injuries: If anyone is injured, take care of their immediate needs and call for an ambulance if necessary. If nobody requires emergency medical attention, it is important to see a doctor soon after your collision. It is not uncommon certain car accident injuries to have delayed symptoms that will not surface until days or even weeks after a crash. Seeing a doctor will not only protect you against further injury, but it will also be crucial for your personal injury claim.
  3. Call the police: While many people feel compelled to chase after the fleeing driver, this can be dangerous as it can cause you to drive recklessly and get in another accident. A better idea is to simply call the police and file an accident report. Even if the police do not find the other driver, having a police report on record will help speed up your insurance claim.
  4. Contact your insurance company: All automobile insurers in Oregon are required to include Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UMC) in every policy which includes coverage for hit and run collisions. Generally speaking, to be covered, a collision must be deemed mostly the fault of the hit and run driver, a report of the crash must be made to law enforcement within 72 hours, the insurance company must be notified within 30 days, and the insurance company must be able to inspect the injured party’s vehicle.

Since there is no other driver, insurance companies will often attempt to place as much of the blame on you as they can in order to shirk financial responsibility for the crash. This is where retaining the services of a powerful attorney becomes important. A knowledgeable legal professional can represent your interests and advocate for maximum compensation on your behalf.

Contact the Law Offices of Timothy Grabe

If you have been injured in a hit and run collision, I, Portland Car Accident Attorney Timothy Grabe, can provide the aggressive representation you need to maximize your financial recovery and get back on your feet as smoothly as possible. To find out more about what my 30+ years of personal injury experience can do for you, call my office today at (503) 825-2115